Political System

Lebanese democratic system allows political freedom in Lebanon, which reflected the diversity of affiliations between the Lebanese parties. Lebanon includes several political parties and movements of various political orientations. Many of the parties are based on popularity of the regulations of a certain range that can be generally divided into three categories: national and internationalist party non-Arab, and Arab nationalist parties, sectarian, Lebanese parties with Christian and Muslim bases.

Lebanese Parliament

Lebanese Parliament is the legislative authority of the Lebanese Republic. After the signing of the Taif Agreement, Lebanon's parliament now has 128 members divided equally between Muslims and Christians, the head of the current parliament is Nabih Berri.

Lebanese Cabinet

Lebanese Cabinet is the procedural authority of the Lebanese state. It powers:

  • Develop public policy of the state in all areas and the development of laws and decrees projects, and take the necessary decisions to implement them.
  • Ensure the implementation of laws and regulations and supervise the activities of all state agencies such as civil departments, military and security institutions.
  • The Designation of state employees, their dismiss, and acceptancance of their resignation is according to the law.
  • In certain constitutional cases, they have the right to dissolve the Lebanese Cabinet.
  • Current Prime Minister, which guarantees 23 ministers is Tammam Salam.